Thursday, April 30, 2009

Prom Books

It is prom season!!! Get in the mood by checking out some of these great prom books.


Prom! : the complete guide to a truly spectacular night by Nancy Krulik

Sewing for special occasions : bridal, prom & evening dresses

(This list contains material taken from the
Prom entry of the TeenLibWiki)

21 Proms edited by David Levithan
Authors include: Libba Bray, Jacqueline Woodson, Ned Vizzini, John Green, Melissa de la Cruz, Holly Black, Brent Hartinger, Cecily von Ziegessar and David Levithan

24 Girls in 7 Days by Alex Bradley
Jack has no date to the prom so unknown to him, his friends write him a personal ad on the online school newspaper. Now he has to date them and find the right one to take to the prom.

Cindy Ella by Robin Palmer
Cindy expresses her negative feelings for prom in the newspaper - making her an overnight loser. Can she still have the fairy tale if she doesn't go to prom?

Fake Boyfriend Kate Brian
Isabelle's boyfriend is the worst, so her friends create her a new fake boyfriend.

Princess in Pink by Meg Cabot
Mia wants Michael to invite her to his prom, but he's so anti-prom that she's afraid she's never have her perfect moment with him

Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson
When a teacher disappears with the prom funds eleven days before prom, friends Ashley and Nat must find other means to make their prom happen.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Book Review- Wintergirls

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
Reviewed by Suzanne Macaulay, Spring City

Laurie Halse Anderson is masterful at creating suspense in her teen novels and Wintergirls is no different. Trapped in the bleak world of anorexia, Lia spirals even further out of control after the death of her best friend, Cassie. Soon, not only are Lia’s own demons haunting her but so is Cassie. Overcome but guilt, Lia loses her grip on reality and now her family may lose Lia forever.

This book was not my favorite of Andersons’, but it was still a powerful read. Fans of Speak and Catalyst will devour this gripping novel. Perfectly timed and full of tension, Wintergirls stays with readers for a long time and will help those understand the desperate world of eating disorders.

Book Review- The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Reviewed by Suzanne Macaulay, Spring City

Science Fiction is not my favorite genre but after hearing rave reviews for Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games I decided to give it a try. It takes place in the country of Panem, the remains of what was once the United States. To prevent an uprising, the Capitol invented The Hunger Games. Each year the twelve districts send a boy and girl to compete. The 24 tributes must battle to the death with only one victor. When Katniss Everdeen’s younger sister is selected to represent District 12, Katniss volunteers to take her place. Small and poor, Katniss must devise a strategy to outlast the other 23 brutal competitors.

This book is riveting! It was very difficult to put it down. Katniss’ fears and anxiety were palpable; I often felt that I was right alongside of her during the competition. With the underlying theme of dystopia, comparisons to books like The Giver and Lord of the Flies are inevitable, but The Hunger Games offers plenty of original ideas and is one of the most exciting Young Adult books I’ve read in a long time. It is definitely not for the squeamish, but is highly recommended to grades 10 and up. I am eagerly awaiting the sequel, Catching Fire, due out in the fall. Rumors of an impending movie are all over the internet though nothing has been confirmed yet—fans will have to stay tuned!

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Book Review- The Body Eclectic: An Anthology of Poems

April is national poetry month, so what better way to celebrate than read a poetry book. Today I will be reviewing The Body Eclectic edited by Patrice Vecchione.

This is a wonderfully varied book of poetry about the human body. Contributors include many popular modern young adults authors like Sandra Cisneros and Gary Soto as well as some classic poems from Lord Byron, Lewis Carol, and William Shakespeare. The subject matter of these poems is varied. For example, some of subjects of the poems have had little poetic musing before. There are poems about fat and elbows. Barbara Hill contributes a short poem about being a cutter.

One added feature that actually makes the poems more meaningful are the biographic notes on the writers. I was interested to find out that Walt Whitman struggled with having little money most of his life and republished his work Leaves of Grass several times.
The value of this work is that it helps the reader to understand their feelings better.

I would recommend this book because the poetry is readable and relatable.
by Katie at CCL

Facebook at CCL and Event Calendar

Did you know that the Chester County Library is now on facebook? Check it out at
Many of the other libraries in the county are on it too, check for it on your library’s homepage.

Also if you are interested in finding out what cool new events are happening at the library for teens and young adult please check out the Calendar at

Use the filter for young adult to find those types of events.