Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Book Review- Wintergirls

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
Reviewed by Suzanne Macaulay, Spring City

Laurie Halse Anderson is masterful at creating suspense in her teen novels and Wintergirls is no different. Trapped in the bleak world of anorexia, Lia spirals even further out of control after the death of her best friend, Cassie. Soon, not only are Lia’s own demons haunting her but so is Cassie. Overcome but guilt, Lia loses her grip on reality and now her family may lose Lia forever.

This book was not my favorite of Andersons’, but it was still a powerful read. Fans of Speak and Catalyst will devour this gripping novel. Perfectly timed and full of tension, Wintergirls stays with readers for a long time and will help those understand the desperate world of eating disorders.

No comments: